Council of Europe
  What's New ?  |  About the CPT  |  Members  |  States  |  Visits  |  Documents  |  Database

Version française de cette page

News Flash

Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits Slovenia

Strasbourg, 09.02.2012 - A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to Slovenia from 31 January to 6 February 2012. This was the CPT’s fourth visit to that country.

During the visit, the CPT’s delegation assessed progress made since previous visits and in particular the extent to which the Committee’s recommendations have been implemented in the areas of police custody, imprisonment and involuntary placement in psychiatric establishments.

In the course of the visit, the delegation held consultations with Mr Aleš ZALAR, Minister of Justice and Acting Minister of the Interior. It also met senior officials from the Ministries of the Interior, Justice, Health, Labour, Family and Social Affairs, Defence and Foreign Affairs.

The delegation had discussions with Ms Zdenka ČEBAŠEK – TRAVNIK, Ombudsman, together with other representatives of the national preventive mechanism established under the Optional Protocol to the United Nations Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

Meetings were also held with members of non-governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

At the end of the visit, the delegation presented its preliminary observations to the Slovenian authorities, in the presence of representatives of the national preventive mechanism.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:

    -     Lətif HÜSEYNOV (Azerbaijani), President of the CPT (Head of delegation)
    -     Marija DEFINIS GOJANOVIĆ (Croatian)
    -     Stefan KRAKOWSKI (Swedish)
    -     Jřrgen Worsaae RASMUSSEN (Danish)
    -     Antonius VAN KALMTHOUT (Dutch).

They were supported by Johan FRIESTEDT and Petr HNÁTÍK of the Committee's Secretariat, and assisted by Olivera VULIĆ, psychiatrist, Podgorica (Montenegro).

The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Police establishments

Ljubljana Police Directorate

    -     Domžale Police Station
    -     Detention Centre at Ljubljana – Moste Police Station

Celje Police Directorate

    -     Celje Police Station

Kranj Police Directorate

    -     Škofja Loka Police Station

Maribor Police Directorate

    -     Maribor I Police Station
    -     Slovenska Bistrica Police Station

Prison establishments

    -     Celje Prison and Juvenile Prison
    -     Dob Prison
    -     Ljubljana Prison (remand section)

Psychiatric establishments

-     Psychiatric Department of Maribor University Hospital Centre.

 Contact us   |   Press   |