Council of Europe
  What's New ?  |  About the CPT  |  Members  |  States  |  Visits  |  Documents  |  Database

Version française de cette page

News Flash

Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits Norway

Strasbourg, 01.06.2011 – A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to Norway from 18 to 27 May 2011. It was the Committee's fifth visit to this country.

The delegation followed up a number of issues examined during previous visits, including the fundamental safeguards against ill-treatment offered to persons deprived of their liberty by the police and the conditions of detention of immigration detainees. The delegation also examined in detail the situation of persons subject to preventive detention (forvaring) and of juveniles held in prison establishments. Further, for the first time in Norway, the delegation visited a prison for women.

In the course of the visit, the delegation had consultations with Terje Moland PEDERSEN, State Secretary of the Ministry of Justice and the Police, and Tone-Helen TOFTEN, State Secretary of the Ministry of Health and Care Services, as well as with senior officials from the aforementioned ministries and the Ministry of Children, Equality and Social Inclusion. Further, the delegation met with Arne FLIFLET, Parliamentary Ombudsman, and Reidar HJERMANN, Ombudsman for Children. The delegation also held meetings with representatives of the Norwegian Centre for Human Rights, the Norwegian Bar Association, and non-governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:
- Mario FELICE (Maltese), Head of delegation
- Ivan JANKOVIĆ (Serbian)
- Marzena KSEL (Polish)
- Vladimir ORTAKOV (citizen of “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”)
- Elena SEREDA (Russian)
- Marika VÄLI (Estonian).

They were supported by Michael NEURAUTER, Head of Division, and Stephanie MEGIES of the CPT's Secretariat, and assisted by Ms Veronica PIMENOFF, psychiatrist, Head of Department of Helsinki University Psychiatric Hospital (Finland).

The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Police establishments

- Bergen District Police Headquarters
- Oslo District Police Headquarters
- Grenland District Police Headquarters, Skien
- Trandum Aliens Holding Centre


- Bergen Prison
- Bredtveit Prison
- Eidsberg Prison
- Ila Prison (Unit for Preventive Detention)
- Oslo Prison
- Skien Prison

Psychiatric establishments

- Regional Department of Forensic and High-Security Psychiatry, Oslo University Hospital (Dikemark).


Contact us   |   Press   |