Council of Europe
  What's New ?  |  About the CPT  |  Members  |  States  |  Visits  |  Documents  |  Database

Version française de cette page

News Flash

Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”

05.10.2010 - A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a visit to “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” from 21 September to 1 October 2010. It was the Committee’s ninth visit to this country.

The CPT’s delegation focused on the treatment and conditions of detention of sentenced and remand prisoners, evaluating the progress made since its previous visits. A further area of interest was the treatment of social care home residents and of patients in the country’s three psychiatric hospitals. The delegation also considered the way in which persons are treated when they are deprived of their liberty by law enforcement agencies and the measures taken to investigate allegations of ill-treatment by the police.

In the course of the visit, the CPT's delegation held meetings with Gordana JANKULOVSKA, Minister of the Interior, Mihajlo MANEVSKI, Minister of Justice, Bujar OSMANI, Minister of Health and Dzelal BAJRAMI, Minister of Labour and Social Policy. It also met Lidija GAVRILOSKA, Director of the Directorate for the Execution of Sanctions, as well as other senior officials from relevant Ministries. In addition, discussions were held with the Ombudsman, Ihxet MEMETI, Deputy Ombudsman, Nevenka KRUSHAROVSKA, and representatives from civil society.

At the end of the visit the delegation presented its preliminary conclusions to the national authorities.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:
    - Mauro PALMA (Italian), Head of delegation and President of the CPT,
    - Georg HØYER (Norwegian),
    - Isolde KIEBER (Liechtensteiner),
    - Jim McMANUS (British),
    - Olivera VULIC (Montenegrin)
    - Branka ZOBEC-HRASTAR (Slovenian).

They were supported by Hugh CHETWYND, Head of Division, and Caterina BOLOGNESE of the CPT's Secretariat, and assisted by one expert: Veronica PIMENOFF, Expert for psychiatry at Helsinki Administrative Court (Finland).

The delegation visited the following places:

Establishments under the authority of the Ministry of Interior

- Centar Police Station, Skopje
- Gazi Baba Police Station, Skopje
- Bit Pazar Police Station, Skopje
- Gevgelija Police Station
- Gostivar Police Station
- Kavadarci Police Station
- Kumanovo Police Station
- Tetovo Police Station
- Veles Police Station

Establishments under the authority of the Ministry of Justice

- Idrizovo Prison
- Skopje Remand Prison
- Štip Prison
- Tetovo Prison (remand section)
- “Tetovo” Educational-Correctional Institution in Skopje Prison

The delegation also paid a targeted visit to Gevgelija Prison to examine certain files.

Institutions under the authority of the Ministry of Health

- Demir Hisar Psychiatric Hospital - Negorci Psychiatric Hospital
- Skopje Psychiatric Hospital (targeted visit) - Closed Ward for Prisoners at Skopje Clinical Centre

Institutions under the authority of the Ministry of Labour and Social Policy

- Demir Kapija Special Institution for mentally disabled persons


 Contact us   |   Press   |