Council of Europe
  What's New ?  |  About the CPT  |  Members  |  States  |  Visits  |  Documents  |  Database

Version française de cette page

News Flash

Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits the Czech Republic

Strasbourg, 21.09.2010 – A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to the Czech Republic from 7 to 16 September 2010. It was the CPT’s sixth visit to this country.

In the course of the visit, particular attention was paid to the treatment of persons detained by the police and the implementation in practice of fundamental safeguards for the prevention of ill-treatment during police custody. The delegation also examined in detail various issues related to prison establishments, including health-care services provided to prisoners and the situation of juveniles. In addition, the delegation visited a psychiatric hospital and an educational institute for youth and children.

The delegation had consultations with Marek ŽENÍŠEK, Deputy Minister of Justice, Martin PLÍŠEK, Deputy Minister of Health, David KAFKA, Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Affairs, as well as with other senior officials of the relevant ministries.

It also met Michael KOCÁB, Government Commissioner for Human Rights, members of the Governmental Committee against Torture, Jitka SEITLOVÁ, Deputy Public Defender of Rights, and representatives of the Prague Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and non-governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

At the end of the visit, the delegation presented its preliminary observations to the Czech authorities.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:

-     Pétur HAUKSSON, First Vice-President of the CPT and Head of delegation (Icelander)
-     Anna MOLNAR (Hungarian)
-     Ilvija PŪCE (Latvian)
-     Jřrgen Worsaae RASMUSSEN (Danish)
-     George TUGUSHI (Georgian)
-     Anton VAN KALMTHOUT (Dutch).

They were supported by Michael NEURAUTER, Head of Division, and Marco LEIDEKKER of the CPT's Secretariat, and assisted by Alan MITCHELL, former Head of the Scottish Prison Health-Care Service (United Kingdom).

The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Establishments under the Ministry of Education

Dečín - Boletice Educational Institute for Youth and Children

Establishments under the Ministry of Health

Horní Beřkovice Psychiatric Hospital

Establishments under the Ministry of the Interior

Chomutov Police Station
Hradec Králové Police Station
Kladno Police Station
Kladno-Kročehlavy Police Station
Pardubice Police Station
Prague-Kongresová Police Headquarters
Rychnov nad Kněžnou Police Station
Ústí nad Labem Police Station

Accommodation Centre for Asylum-Seekers at Prague-Ruzynĕ International Airport
Aliens Police Station at Prague-Ruzynĕ International Airport (transit zone)

Establishments under the Ministry of Justice

Hradec Králové Remand Prison
Pardubice Prison
Prague-Ruzynĕ Prison (remand section)
Teplice Remand Prison
Všehrdy Prison (units for juveniles).

 Contact us   |   Press   |