Council of Europe
  What's New ?  |  About the CPT  |  Members  |  States  |  Visits  |  Documents  |  Database

Version française de cette page

News Flash

Council of Europe anti-torture Committee visits Albania

Strasbourg, 28.05.2010 – A delegation of the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) carried out a periodic visit to Albania from 10 to 21 May 2010. It was the CPT’s ninth visit to this country.

In the course of the visit, the CPT’s delegation reviewed the measures taken by the Albanian authorities to implement the recommendations made by the Committee after previous visits. In this connection, particular attention was paid to the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty by the police and to conditions of detention in police detention facilities. The delegation also examined in detail various issues related to prisons and pre-trial detention centres, including health-care services provided to prisoners and the situation of juveniles. In addition, the delegation visited a psychiatric hospital and, for the first time, three “supported homes” for disabled patients.

The delegation had fruitful consultations with Lulzim BASHA, Minister of the Interior, Bujar NISHANI, Minister of Justice, Petrit VASILI, Minister of Health, Albert GAJO, Deputy Minister of Health, Spiro KSERA, Minister of Labour, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities, and Gazmend DIBRA, Director General of Prisons, as well as with other senior officials of the relevant ministries. It also met representatives of the Office of the People’s Advocate, the OSCE Presence in Albania, the European Assistance Mission to the Albanian Justice System (EURALIUS) and non-governmental organisations active in areas of concern to the CPT.

At the end of the visit, the delegation presented its preliminary observations to the Albanian authorities.

The visit was carried out by the following members of the CPT:

-           Mario FELICE, Head of delegation (Maltese)

-           Marija DEFINIS-GOJANOVIĆ (Croatian)

-           Eugenijus GEFENAS (Lithuanian)

-           Lətif HÜSEYNOV (Azerbaijani)

-           James McMANUS (British)

-           Arman VARDANYAN (Armenian).

They were supported by Fabrice KELLENS, Deputy Executive Secretary of the CPT, and Elvin ALIYEV of the CPT's Secretariat, and assisted by Catherine PAULET, psychiatrist, Head of the Regional Medico-Psychological Service at Baumettes Prison, Marseille (France).

The delegation visited the following places of deprivation of liberty:

Establishments under the Ministry of the Interior

-           Police Directorate General, Tirana

-           Police Station No. 3, Tirana

-           Burrel Police Station

-           Durres Police Station

 -          Elbasan Police Station

-           Fushe Kruja Police Station

-           Kukes Police Station

-           Pogradec Police Station

-           Shkodra Police Station

Establishments under the Ministry of Justice

-           Prison No. 313, Tirana

-           Prison Hospital, Tirana

-           Burrel Prison

-           Fushe Kruja Prison

-           Korca Prison

-           Durres Pre-Trial Detention Centre

-           Kukes Pre-Trial Detention Centre

-           Reintegration Centre for Minors, Kavaja

 Establishments under the Ministry of Health

-           Shkodra Psychiatric Hospital (including two “supported homes” for disabled patients)

-           “Drita Supported Home” for disabled patients, Elbasan.


 Contact us   |   Press   |